I'm leaving, on a jet plane

I'm leaving, on a jet plane

So I leave tomorrow for my mystery destination, and I am incredibly excited, but also filled with a bit of trepidation. It’s looking like I’ll be traveling (that is, away from our apartment and living out of a suitcase) for at least two months, which is really just cah-razy. First and foremost, I’m going to really miss my husband, particularly since I’ll probably be gone for our first wedding anniversary. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he can somehow come meet up with me on the back end of the trip, but we can’t plan anything yet since work hasn’t told me where I’ll be going then! Ah, the life of a travel writer. Not that I’m complaining. Again, I am SO stoked to be going back out on the road, and I’m also really excited to be back in the office for a couple weeks. I’m also, like, giddy at the thought of being back in New York and seeing all my friends. So long as it doesn’t torrential downpour the whole time, I think it’ll be really great.

Meanwhile, today was a flurry of activity. We woke up at the crack of dawn (on a Saturday, blech!) to take a bus, then a train, and then another bus to a town called Telopea to look at a used car. Even though we’re centrally located enough to manage fine without an automobile, I think the hubs has been itching to get one. It undeniably makes it easier to run errands and take day trips. Plus, we’ve been told that it is NOT fun getting around here in the summer without a car, and the hubs enticed me by suggesting that it will be a lot easier to get to the beach to surf. Now I just need to learn how!

Anyway, we found the car to be to our satisfaction, and after it gets serviced and the registration gets transferred this week, the hubs will go pick it up next weekend. We got a really good deal on it (at least that’s what we’re hoping), and figure my parents will be psyched since it’s a Saab. I suppose that means I’ll actually have to drive here at some point. Another adventure to look forward to…

After we got all the car stuff sorted, we took a train back into the city and then took the ferry out to Taronga Zoo, where a baby Asian elephant was born two weeks ago– the first elephant ever born in Australia. It’s been a huge story here, like on the news and in the papers every day, and since I figure the calf will be a lot bigger by the time I get back, I wanted to see it for myself before leaving. It was well worth it! First we passed over the elephants when we took the sky tram to the top of the zoo (it’s built on a steep hillside with fantastic views of the city), and the baby was kicking it underneath its Mom, like in this picture. Then we went back and waited in line for about ten minutes to view it in the elephant barn. Since I was really out of it this morning I forgot both my camera and my iPhone, so unforch I could only photograph it with my BlackBerry, but I think the cuteness still comes across. It’s sooooo little!!!

I want one

I want one

Afterwards we meandered around the zoo, which is quite large and nicely laid out (don’t worry, we will happily return with any and all visitors). Natch my other favorite part was the koalas, even though they were sleeping (which they are wont to do up to 20 hours/day). The zoo was fun, but what I’m really stoked to do is visit this place in Thailand. I’ve always been an elephant fan, probably because I grew up on Babar books.

I’m going to end on a very random note. Last night I had a total hankering for macaroni & cheese. I already knew they don’t have Annie’s here (I will be attempting to bring a case back with me, thank you very much), but I’ve seen Kraft mac & cheese around and figured it would do in a pinch. Uh, not so much. At the supermarket I noticed that the box was kind of heavy, and when I got home I saw why: rather than powdered cheese, this gross cheese paste stuff comes in a can, and you scoop it out and mix it in while cooking the macaroni. Not only was the consistency nasty, but the flavor was totally bland. If any future expats should read this, bring mac & cheese with you when you come; otherwise you will be severely disappointed (and grossed out).

Crazily, the next time I write I’ll be stateside. Woohoo!

