Tags

, , ,

Near Blowhole Point (seriously) in Kiama

Near Blowhole Point in Kiama

Whatever you do, make sure you scroll to the bottom of this post before navigating away! Ok, moving on…

Man have I been remiss about not blogging. I know you’ve all been holding your breaths for the last ten days or so, so I apologize for the gap since my last post. We had a great trip to the South Coast, highlighted by a beautiful hike around Fitzroy Falls and a super-fun stop at Symbio Wildlife Gardens, where we got to pet kangaroos AND koalas (see pictures below). Props to the hubs for picking a great hotel, the Sebel Harbourside in Kiama (which, btw, is apparently pronounced Ky-am-Ahh. I of course kept calling it Key-AH-ma. That happens a lot here with pronounciations).

What totally cracks me up is that this past weekend’s Sydney Morning Herald ran a review of the hotel, and the dude who wrote it stayed there at the same time as us. Like omg, I totally could have done that! I really do miss staying at hotels and writing about them; I can’t wait till our website launches and I can get back to traveling some more. Anyway, here are a few choice shots from the Queen’s [belated] Birthday Weekend:

The "famous" Kiama Blowhole

The "famous" Kiama Blowhole

Sunset from near our hotel

Sunset from near our hotel

Fitzroy Falls from the East Rim Track (what they call trails here)

Fitzroy Falls from the East Rim Track (what they call trails here)

Nice view of the Southern Highlands in the background

Nice view of the Southern Highlands in the background

Kangaroo eating out of the husband's hand (but taking a break to chew)

Kangaroo eating out of the husband's hand (but taking a break to chew)

Yay! A koala! And it was so soft!

Yay! A koala! And it was so soft!

So yes, all in all it was a lovely weekend. Particularly when you consider it’s technically, like, mid-December, yet we were walking around in sweaters and jeans and hiking in light layers. I’ll totes take this weather any day. Now we’re starting to look further afield for our next trip, possibly something up in Queensland in September or October, and hopefully Thailand around Christmas time. If any of you Aussie residents have suggestions or tips, be sure to let me know in the comments!

**

Ok, part deux. Every day I find lots of little things here to giggle at. Of course, there’s the obvious (the towns here have the most ridiculous names. My current fave: Wagga Wagga). Also, I love that the top random google searches that bring people to my blog involve “Nigel Barker.” Finally, every time I go to a class at my gym, the teachers just looove playing cheesy techno and pop music and singing along in exaggerated American accents. Tonight in my lifting class the (male) teacher just kept shouting “PUMP THE JAM!” and I, like, couldn’t stop giggling. It definitely makes the classes more enjoyable (though sadly I’m still just as sore).

Finally, I’d like to expose you all to some Aussie rap music. Perhaps the single best moment of our trip occurred on the car ride down, when I was flipping through radio stations and came across this gem, which is an Australian dude rapping about a girl in the cafe (here they pronounce it “CALF-ay”) and bacon over and over again. The husband and I looked at each other and both started cracking up. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to take Australian music seriously (and it’s no wonder all my gym teachers are such fans of American music). Without further ado, I give you Seth “This relationship is built on breakfast” Sentry:

