Tags

,

Without further ado, the husband’s much-anticipated rant of the day: Australian money

I'll give you Baltic for Park Place

I'll give you Baltic for Park Place

“The money here looks and feels like monopoly money (see above). The bills are different sizes, and the coins weigh a ton. $2 coins are the same size as 5 cent pieces, and half the size of dollars.

I agree, making the $2 coin the smallest is wicked dumb

I agree, making the $2 coin the smallest is wicked dumb

And I haven’t heard of a single person on their money (other than Queen Elizabeth, who’s not even Australian)! I spent like two hours on Wikipedia trying to figure out who these people are.

**

That concludes the husband’s rant of the day. On to mine: stupid shit here costs way more than it should! For instance, a few weeks ago I went out to buy a pair of running shoes (not inherently stupid, but you’ll see what I mean in a second). I’d wanted to buy a pair of my trusty favorite model, Adidas Response TR (which usually retail in stores for like $65), before we left the U.S., but we went to like three different stores and no one had them in my size. Figuring the Australians are fit people (but also recalling a terrible dearth of good running shoes when I went to the UK), I reluctantly agreed to wait till we got here to get some new ones.

Annnyway, we went to a few Foot Lockers, which had like ten pairs of shoes, none of which cost less than $170 AUD (that’s like $129 USD). Wack, right? Finally we went to this discount sporting goods store, and even then the cheapest shoes started at $99 AUD, and they sucked (no thanks, I would not like a pair of Nike Netball sneakers). Since they had like three Adidas models (all $170+, none of them trail runners), I ended up settling for these Asics Gel Cumulus 10s (even though the bright white/orange/cayenne pepper color scheme makes me supremely unhappy. Yes, I’m vain):

Bright white + orange = me puking

Bright white + orange = me puking

These beautes were marked down to $150 ($114 USD). Guess how much they cost in the US? $95! I mean, I guess $20 accounts for the price of importing them and whatnot, but then why doesn’t Australia make its own brand of running shoes? UGH. Even worse, I wore the shoes out for a run the next day and even though they’re fairly comfortable, the backs must be higher than what I’m used to because they started chafing on my Achilles tendon, to the point that both of my legs were bleeding by the end of the run (so much for exchanging the sneakers).

This brought me back to the sporting goods store so I could buy a new pair of Thorlo roll-top socks so as to protect the open wounds on the back of my feet while exercising. I only have one pair with me (the others were supposed to be air-shipped, but got stuck on the boat instead), and rather than wash them every day I figured I’d just get a new pair. Guess how much ONE pair of these socks cost? $27.99 AUD! For a pair of cotton SOCKS! That’s about $21 USD (whereas they retail for around $11 back at home). UGH.

So far the only things that cost less here are groceries (and that’s a big one, I know) and Australian wine (you can get a decent bottle for, like, six bucks). I’d be ok if stuff was just a couple bucks more. But $21 for one pair of socks? That’s downright insulting.

**

Fortunately the painful blisters on my feet have finally started to go away (I don’t know what hurts more, the actual cuts or thinking of my beloved Response TRs and how blissfully cheap they would have been). Anyway, I went for a run on the treadmill in our hotel gym yesterday since the weather was a little iffy. As I turned it on for a warmup, I realized that my normal warmup pace of 6.8 felt extremely slow. After a second it hit me, that’s because pace on Australian treadmills is measured in freaking KILOMETERS/hour instead of miles. And your progress isn’t monitored in calories, but instead in kilojoules (4.184 kj= 1 calorie. Yeah that’s easy to calculate). So really I only have a vague idea of how effective my workout was, though I guess I felt good running at a pace of 11 when I usually never pass 8.

Ok, that’s about it for now. ANTM better be good tonight!

