Tags

, ,

Oh man, I totally couldn’t let the day pass without posting about two enormously exciting events that transpired this weekend. First and foremost, HUUUUUGE ups to my best friend Bridget, who on Saturday completed the Country Music Half-Marathon to raise money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

So proud of my Home Slice! Of the many, many pictures out there of us this is one of my all-time faves.

So proud of my Home Slice! Of the many, many pictures out there of us this is one of my all-time faves.

Before all this Australia business I’d planned to join Beege and her Mom for the race in Nasvhille (while conveniently crossing Tennessee off my list of states left to visit), but unfortunately I could only be there in spirit. Beege emailed me this morning (still post-race Saturday in Tennessee) to let me know that they finished the race despite 90+ degree temperatures. And apparently the nightlife in Nashville is ridiculously awesome, or at least it is if you like country music, which Beege does very, very much. So here’s hoping they have a rockin’ – or, er, foot-stompin? – good time, since they very much deserve it. Home Slice: you’re an inspiration to all of us, and even from half a world away you’re the best friend anyone could ever hope to have. I’m soooooooo happy for- and proud of you!

**

This is a sight I'll never get sick of.

This is a sight I'll never get sick of.

Back home in Boston, the Sox have now come from behind  in two straight games to defeat the yankees in their opening series of the year. Above, Mike Lowell’s celebrating a three-run homer in the 7th on Saturday that gave the Sox the lead; he added three more with a bases-clearing double in the 8th. In the ridiculous 16-11 win the Sox overcame a 6-run deficit– the largest against the yankees since 1968! I mean, it’s no 2004 ALCS, but it’s awesome nonetheless.

The first series of the year against the yankees is always super-intense and usually seems to feature crazy games like Saturday’s. I mean, every series against the yankees kind of feels like the most exciting event ever in Boston – whereas in NYC there are so many non-sports fans that other than a few headlines in the Post you’d barely know they were playing – but the first series always feels particularly cathartic and portentous, as we’re all releasing a winter’s worth of baseball-less aggression and looking for the next overpriced yankee signing to hate on (hello, A.J. Burnett!).

Anyway, even though I’m not in Boston I don’t doubt that the sun’s shining just a little bit brighter, and that everyone’s walking with an extra spring in their step right now. I just went for a run and even here in boring rugbyland I couldn’t help but smile thinking of how raucous the Fenway crowds must’ve been over the past two days. Of course, after perusing the game’s photo gallery (both photos courtesy of the Globe’s Barry Chin, btw) I now realize that the game was in the bag from the get-go: Usain Bolt threw out the first pitch!

Love. Him.

Love. Him.

It wouldn’t be a day without me working in some Jamaica love, after all, but seriously the Sox are the best at getting rad people to throw out the first pitch. I think my favorite that I’ve ever seen at a game was Sherman Helmsley, who danced out to the mound to the Jeffersons theme song, then managed to throw a half-decent pitch despite being about 5’4″. Sigh, how much I already miss American sports. Fingers crossed that the Sox show up again for Sunday night’s game; I’ll be watching on Monday morning!

