Tags

Hooray for exotic cosmetics brands!

Hooray for exotic cosmetics brands!

So on Friday I decided to walk through a bunch of the neighborhoods we’re thinking of living in, including Surry Hills, Paddington and Woollahra. I took a ton of pictures and will hopefully get around to posting those later today or tomorrow, but in the meantime I just had to revel in a little shopping-related news.

Before we left I was saddened to discover that there is no Sephora in Australia. They have it across Europe and in Asia, but not here, wtf? Anyway, since arriving I’ve been on a mission to discover the Sephora equivalent, because clearly they have to have some sort of cosmetics emporium, right? During my walks with the husband he’s done his best to keep us moving and keep me out of stores, but on Friday I was free to browse at will so I finally had the chance to give reputed shopping haven Oxford Street a thorough inspection.

One store that I’ve noticed around the city is Mecca Cosmetica, which actually seems pretty similar to Sephora, though of course a lot smaller. They sell brands like Nars, Stila and Frederic Fekkai, though, so I can’t complain. The prices aren’t even that awful, which is refreshing since a lot of brands from home seem to be ridiculously overpriced here (for instance, I saw a pair of 7 jeans in a magazine listed for $399 AUD. Ack!).

A couple doors down from Mecca I wandered into a store called Kit, where I was immediately drawn to a range of Tahitian products that were labeled completely in French. Yes, I’m a sucker for the exotic, though they didn’t quite offer what I was looking for. The store was totally fun and colorful, though, and although it had a couple recognizable brands like Korres and Davies Gate, most of the brands were pretty foreign to me (ugh, no pun intended).

Ever since we got here my skin’s been kind of dry so I’ve been on the hunt for a good exfoliator. The salesgirl was super helpful and showed me like every exfoliator in the store, and I ended up selecting a pomegranate and pink grapefruit scrub that smelled amazing. When I inevitably run out of my 100-or-so bottles of hotel body lotions I think I’ll have to go back for the companion body lotion, which had me smelling my hands all day. That sounds kind of weird, but oh well.

So now I’m about to head out for a run, but I have to share that I’m watching an American movie from 1969 called If It’s Tuesday, This Must be Belgium. One of the stars is Ian McShane from Deadwood (and that new weird show on NBC, Kings), who must have been about 25 at the time. Who knew he was once cute and charming? The movie basically mocks ugly American tourists traveling around Europe, but it’s kind of funny if you excuse the 60s datedness. These are the sorts of things they show here on a Sunday afternoon. Sigh, I miss football and baseball.

