Tags

,

Another day, another story on The Morning Show making me laugh. Today they had a panel discussion about how the government wants to crack down on the playing of “Two-Up” on ANZAC Day, an upcoming holiday that is sort of akin to our Veteran’s Day or Memorial Day. ANZAC stands for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps, btw. They also sell ANZAC cookies in the supermarket. Rando. Anyway, here’s the official Two-Up definition from the rather extensive Wikipedia page:

Two-up is a traditional Australian gambling game, involving a designated ‘Spinner’ throwing two coins into the air. Players gamble on whether the coins will fall with both heads up, both tails up, or with one coin a head, and one a tail (known as ‘Odds’). It is traditionally played on ANZAC Day in pubs and clubs throughout Australia, in part to mark a shared experience with Diggers through the ages.

What they added during the TV explanation – with a straight face, no less – is that people tend to punch each other in the face after the coins land. It’s all part of the laugh and the shared experience! Hahahah! Seriously, the fact that people tend to punch each other in the face was just a thrown-in aside, just a minor by-product of drunken gambling. The woman who was passionately defending the playing of Two-Up on ANZAC Day got so vehement that she said it would be positively un-Australian to curb the playing of Two-Up on such a solemn holiday. Even some of the other panelists thought that was a bit much. All I can say is that I look forward to walking around on ANZAC day and looking for groups of little kids throwing coins in the air and punching each other in the face. Clearly I better keep my camera handy.

**

In other news, the cookies and candy here are just as good as advertised (wicked bad news for this sugar fiend). Among the most popular are Tim Tams (seriously, like 50% of the words and phrases here make me giggle), which are sort of like chocolate-covered wafers filled with various cream and nougat flavors. The closest thing I can compare them to are Twix Kit Kats, but they are way fluffier and come in the most amazing variety of flavors, including Mint Crush, Black Forest and Chewy Caramel.

According to parent company Arnotts.com, 1 in every 2 households (in Australia, I assume) contains a packet of Tim Tams.

According to parent company Arnotts.com, 1 in every 2 households (in Australia, I assume) contains a packet of Tim Tams.

A while back I talked about my attachment to Darrell Lea Soft Eating Raspberry Liquorice, which was  sold in the supermarket in our building in New York. Sadly I haven’t been able to find that flavor anywhere here (even in the Darrell Lea stores!), but I have come across those mythical Raspberry Bullets. So far we’ve only had the milk chocolate-covered ones that are put out by some company called Trumps, but I can only find a picture of Darrell Lea’s white chocolate raspberry variety. Anyway, they are super delicious and addictive, and fortunately are closer in size to little bullets than, you know, prosthetic fingers or albino baby carrots.

Looks a little gross I know, but believe me, they're super delicious

Looks a little gross I know, but believe me, they're super delicious

Another popular candy bar is Cherry Ripe, which basically combines my three favorite ingredients: dark chocolate, coconut and cherries (technically raspberries are my favorite fruit, but cherries suffice in such an otherwise-delectable combo).

Smoothie bars akin to Jamba Juice are pervasive here, and I’ve been noticing that a lot of them do Cherry Ripe smoothies with chocolate bits, fruit yogurt and coconut milk. It’s kind of out of control awesome. It also means I need to get new running shoes pronto so I can justify snacking on all this crap. As I mentioned in an earlier post, there are like NO fat people in Sydney. How do they pull that off when they very clearly have a ginormous sweet tooth? This is one of the great mysteries that I’ll surely need to solve during my two years here.

