Aaagh! Moving day has finally arrived. The hubs graciously took inventory of our entire apartment when I was in Jamaica, and now there are four dudes in our little apartment, packing our entire lives into an endless supply of cardboard boxes that will be stuck into a container, blocked off with some 2 x 4s, and shipped halfway around the world. As I told my friends, I will be PISSED if Somali pirates hijack our ship. I definitely never thought those pirate stories would ever remotely affect me, and now here I am, semi-legit concerned about most of my worldly possessions being lost on the high seas. Wack. Here is our apartment, mid-move:

boxesBecause the apartment got so crowded, I sort of got claustraphobic, freaked out and decided to go for one last walk around the neighborhood. I walked up Broadway, said goodbye to Barney’s Co-op, and then headed to H&H (my second-favorite bagel place– my favorite, Ess-a-Bagel, is on the East side) for one last glorious New York bagel. Yes, bagel purists might argue that blueberry isn’t the most traditional flavor, but whatever, they’re tasty and were hot and fresh and just exactly what I wanted:

hh

YUM

After I got my bagel I walked down 80th Street to the edge of Riverside Park. The weather has been really crappy lately, but for once it’s sunny and almost warm so it was nice to enjoy eating in the sun. On the way I passed one of my favorite uniquely New York sights: the dog-walker

dog-walkerAs I sat in Riverside Park, I realized that I’d been there eating bagels four years ago with KT and Maureen after spending the weekend with KT at her apartment on 96th Street. It’s crazy to think that since then we’ve both moved out to California and back, that Maureen and I have both gone to grad school, that we’ve all changed jobs multiple times, and that I’ve even gotten married. Who knows where we’ll all be four years from now?

I got back to the apartment around 11, and the movers were done around 1:30. It was pretty crazy- and impressive- that they packed up all our worldly possessions in about 4 hours. Nine boxes are being air-shipped, and allegedly they’re going to arrive on Wednesday (we get to Sydney on Tuesday). Who the hell knows when the boat stuff will arrive. Later that afternoon we walked out to get some lunch and happened to catch the container truck driving away with all of it. The head mover told us it was shipping out of New York, even though that doesn’t really make sense. Hopefully he was wrong and it’s actually training across the country to California and shipping out of Long Beach or something. Again, let’s just hope it doesn’t have to pass by Africa.

The container of our life

The container of our life

The truck turns up 70th Street. Bon voyage!

The truck turns up 70th Street. Bon voyage!

After all our stuff was out of the apartment we had some cleaners come in to give it a thorough scrub-down before the building manager came to inspect it and return our deposit. After that, we were finally able to head downtown to our hotel (fortunately we passed inspection and got our deposit back). We spent less than a year in our apartment, but it served us well, and I loved living in the neighborhood. I don’t know if we’ll live so far uptown when we get back, but it was a great first apartment. My only great regret is that I didn’t get to say goodbye to my favorite doorman, Lazlo. I’m not gonna lie, though, I’m definitely getting excited looking at the apartments in Sydney. They look a lot nicer, a lot bigger, and a lot cheaper. Hopefully I’ll be posting about our new apartment some time soon.

