Tags

So when I was trying to decide on a blog title earlier today I was browsing the Aussie Slang Dictionary looking for funny/punny American-related phrases that would make me look clever. This all started because everyone keeps telling me how Australians are really into shortening words, and I happen to be a fan of that as well (anyone who texts, IMs or emails with me regularly is well-versed in totes, obvs, jk, prolly, whatevs, etc.). Annnnyway, some examples of fun Australian words that I’ve picked up so far:

  • “Sunnies”: sunglasses
  • “Tomo”: tomorrow
  • “Tracky dacks”: tracksuit bottoms
  • “Arvo”: afternoon

So this afternoon…er, I mean arvo I was looking for American-related slang in hopes that it might make for a catchy blog title. As I already knew, Australians like to call us Yanks (same deal as in the UK), so slang words usually derive from that. My favorite new phrase that I found: “Yank tank,” which is slang for an American car. The most disheartening phrase that I found was “seppo“:

noun:- a derogatory term for an American, ‘septic tank’ rhyming with ‘yank’.”

Kind of a funny logic, no? I mean, as far as I know we don’t have any derogatory terms for Australians – quick 30 Rock reference: “Are you sure calling you Puerto Rican isn’t offensive?” Aaaand we’re back! – so I’m mildly concerned about encountering some hostility.

BUT, on a happier note, I’ve recently become obsessed with this Australian “soft eating” raspberry liquorice that they sell downstairs at Jubilee. This is actually kind of a happy coincidence that predated all of this moving to Australia business, but I’ve heard lots of good things about their candy (apparently Australians have quite the sweet tooth), so that’s one good thing to look forward to. I think one of my first missions after landing will be to track down these white chocolate raspberry liquorice bullets. How yum does that sound? Yes, in the picture they look like albino baby carrots – or maybe prosthetic fingers? – but they’ve gotta be mega delicious. Let’s just hope when I purchase them excitedly I don’t hear the cashier call me a seppo under his or her breath.



